General Categories of Immigrants
Persons immigrating to the US are divided by the US Immigration law into two general categories: (I) those who may obtain legal permanent residence status without numerical limitation and (II) those who are restricted by an annual limitation on the number of persons who may enter as permanent residents. The latter category is further divided into (i) family sponsored immigrants (ii) employment based immigrants, and (iii) diversity immigrants.

A. Immigrants not subject to Numerical Limitation
B. Immigrants subject to Numerical Limitation
(1) Employment First Preference – EB-1
(2) Employment Second Preference – EB-2
(3) Employment Third Preference – EB-3
(4) Employment Fourth Preference – EB-4
(5) Employment Fifth Preference – EB-5